Raina's 94* forces RCB to surrender Semi Final to ...

Raina's 94* forces RCB to surrender Semi Final to CSK!

Tags: Champions League T20 2010, CSK v RCB 1st semi-final at Durban - Sep 24, 2010, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers, Suresh Kumar Raina, Douglas Erwin Bollinger

Published on: Sep 25, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Royal Challengers Bangalore had to virtually bow down to the supremely powerful Chennai Super Kings in the 1st Semi Final at Durban. It was a rain-affected contest at Kingsmead which was reduced to 17 overs and CSK powered by Suresh Raina's 94* (from 48 balls with 5 fours and 6 sixes) had piled up a massive 174 for 4! Murali Vijay too had come good with a 32-ball 41 to keep CSk healthy. RCB put in their worst show of the tournament with their bowling and fielding and subsequently were out of the contest at the conclusion of the first innings itself. They were defeated comprehensively by 52 runs to allow CSK enter the Final!

MS Dhoni won the crucial toss and he elected to bat first under overcast conditions. Rain put a halt to the proceedings after 2.5 overs but there was enough time on hand for a proper cricket match to resume. CSK came out all guns blazing and the bad omen for RCB came when Dale Steyn while trying to take an overhead catch offered by Hussey had a concussion after falling backwards which ruled him out of the rest of the match. Steyn didn't bowl a single ball and the remaining RCB bowlers took a pounding from Suresh Raina. RCB just left things to their fate and were clueless as the boundaries and sixes were struck regularly while they were as many as 17 extras gifted away by some ordinary bowling!

In a total contrast, the CSK opening bowlers - Albie Morkel and Doug Bollinger moved the ball alarmingly off the seam to make the RCB batsmen dance to their tunes. The top order collapsed quickly at 12 for 3 in the 4th over and they were eventually 123 all out in 16.2 overs. Bollinger was the most successful taking three wickets and the other four bowlers used by MS Dhoni were amongst the wickets as well. Suresh Raina was the obvious choice for the Man of the Match.

Related News