ECB announces ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Schedule

ECB announces ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Schedule

Tags: ICC Champions Trophy 2013, Champions Trophy

Published on: Aug 21, 2012

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced the Schedule of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013. ECB will be hosting the Champions Trophy 2013 in three cities – Cardiff, Birmingham and London in the month of June.

By BV Swagath

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced the Schedule of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013. ECB will be hosting the Champions Trophy 2013 in three cities – Cardiff, Birmingham and London in the month of June. This will be the last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy as decided by the International Cricket Council. The ICC had made a decision to conduct only one global tournament for each format of the game from the year 2015.

The 2013 tournament to be held in England will be the 7th edition of the ICC Champions Trophy. Interestingly, the tournament will not feature Bangladesh and Zimbabwe! This is because the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 has been restricted to 8 teams. The teams are divided equally in two groups as below:

Group A: England, Australia, New Zealand and Sri Lanka

Group B: India, South Africa, Pakistan and West Indies

According to the ECB website, Tournament director Steve Elworthy had commented that: "This will be an incredible opportunity for fans to see the world's very best one-day sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests. The format means every match counts and all eight teams will feel that they are capable of winning the tournament in a competition which is set to be one of the highlights of the 2013 summer. "

Following is the Schedule of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 as per the ECB:

Thursday June 6: India v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff

Friday June 7: West Indies v Pakistan (Day) - The Oval

Saturday June 8: England v Australia (Day) - Edgbaston

Sunday June 9: Sri Lanka v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff

Monday June 10: Pakistan v South Africa (Day) - Edgbaston

Tuesday June 11: India v West Indies (Day) - The Oval

Wednesday June 12: Australia v New Zealand (Day/Night) - Edgbaston

Thursday June 13: England v Sri Lanka (Day/Night) - The Oval

Friday June 14: West Indies v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff

Saturday June 15: India v Pakistan (Day) - Edgbaston

Sunday June 16: England v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff

Monday June 17: Sri Lanka v Australia (Day/Night) - The Oval

Tuesday June 18: Rest day

Wednesday June 19: Semi-final A1 v B2 (Day) - The Oval

Thursday June 20: Semi-final A2 v B1 (Day) - Cardiff

Friday June 21: Rest day

Saturday June 22: Rest day

Sunday June 23: Final (Day) - Edgbaston

Related News