Hyderabad’s new IPL franchise team named as Sunrisers

Hyderabad’s new IPL franchise team named as Sunrisers

Tags: IPL 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Thomas Masson Moody, Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Vangipurappu Venkata Sai Laxman

Published on: Dec 20, 2012

By BV Swagath

IPL 6 will see a new team by the name – Sunrisers Hyderabad. Owned by the Sun Network Television Company, the Sunrisers are the replacement of the terminated Deccan Chargers, the previous IPL franchise representing Hyderabad.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained the core of the Deccan Chargers players. The Sunrisers are expected to be led by Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara. Tom Moody, former Australian all-rounder and former Sri Lanka Coach will be the Head Coach of the Sunrisers. Moody was the Coach of the Kings XI Punjab in the past.

VVS Laxman, who has recently retired from International Cricket will play the role of the Mentor of the Sunrisers. Laxman has been struggling to make it in the XIs of the Deccan Chargers in the previous editions which forced him to graciously quit the T20 format of the game.

The Sunrisers will also avail the services of former India opener Krish Srikkanth who will also play the role of a Mentor like Laxman. Srikkanth in the past was associated with the Chennai Super Kings.

Related News