Bowlers set up easy win for RCB over Rajasthan ...

Bowlers set up easy win for RCB over Rajasthan Royals

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2013, Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Rajasthan Royals 27th Match at Bangalore - Apr 20, 2013, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Christopher Henry Gayle, Rudra Pratap Singh

Published on: Apr 20, 2013

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

By BV Swagath

Royal Challengers Bangalore eased to a 7-wicket win with 13 balls to spare against the Rajasthan Royals at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. It was a one-sided affair after the Rajasthan Royals crumbled to 117 all out after being put into bat first by Virat Kohli.

The hosts got to a busy start with Tillakaratne Dilshan scoring a 25-ball 22 to put up 53 runs in 6.4 overs for the first wicket with Gayle. However, RCB lost their momentum with the wickets of Kohli and AB de Villiers which left Chris Gayle to play the sheet anchor’s role for a change. Gayle carried his bat through with an unbeaten 49 from 44 balls (with 4 fours and a six). Finishing the run chase with Gayle was Saurabh Tiwary who was playing his first game of the tournament. Tiwary was very slow to start but made up for that with an unbeaten 25 from 29 balls with 2 fours and a six.

Earlier, the Rajasthan Royals simply lacked the batting firepower to propel them to a par total. Shane Watson, their most destructive player fell early and an in-form Rahane got out cheaply for once. Stuart Binny at no.4 was promising with a few big hits but got out after a 20-ball 33. Skipper Rahul Dravid scored 35 from 31 balls. After the set batsmen for the Royals departed, there was hardly any quality batting left to provide the finishing touches and RCB was clinical to keep them down to a below par total of 117.

Ravi Rampaul as usual bowled well, taking 2 for 19. The most successful bowlers were RP Singh with 4-0-13-3 and R Vinay Kumar who got the Man of the Match award for his 4-0-18-3.

Toss and Teams: Hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the toss and asked Rajasthan Royals to bat first at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Dilshan comes back in the RCB team in the place of McDonald and for the Rajasthan Royals, Sreesanth who missed out in the previous game at Jaipur comes back along with the fiery Shaun Tait.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Saurabh Tiwary, Arun Karthik (WK), Ravi Rampaul, Vinay Kumar, Jaidev Unadkat, Murali Kartik, RP Singh

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Dravid (C), Brad Hodge, Stuart Binny, Dishant Yagnik (WK), James Faulkner, Ajit Chandila, Siddharth Trivedi, Shaun Tait, S Sreesanth

Related News