» » Sri Lanka Vs Zimbabwe 1st Match, Group C at Hambantota - Sep 18, 2012

Cricket News sort by Sri Lanka Vs Zimbabwe 1st Match, Group C at Hambantota - Sep 18, 2012

Hosts Sri Lanka opened the ICC World Twenty20 2012 with a massive 82-run win over Zimbabwe at Hambantota. Zimbabwe were completely bamboozled by the spin bowling of Ajantha Mendis.

The opening encounter of the WorldT20, between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe at Hambantota, turned out to be a disappointingly one-sided affair. Agreed, the home side were always expected to come up trumps, but the kind of thumping Zimbabwe received will sure act as a source of demotivation for the games to follow.

Zimbabwe were crushed by 82 runs in the opening match of the ICC World T20 2012 against Sri Lanka at Hambantota.

Hosts Sri Lanka take on Zimbabwe in the opening encounter of the World T20 at Hambantota. Even as the Sri Lankans would be keen to get off to an impressive start, Zimbabwe have a point to prove for sure – that they still belong at this level, and they can make a statement of intent with a competitive showing at Hambantota against their much-fancied opponents.

ICC Twenty20/T20 World cup 2012, 1st Match, Group C: Sri Lanka Vs Zimbabwe at Hambantota, Sep 18, 2012. Match start at 19:30 local time (14:00 GMT, 7:30 PM IST, 7 PM PKT).