Choking RCB prevail in Super Over as Delhi crash ...

Choking RCB prevail in Super Over as Delhi crash to fifth defeat in a row

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2013, Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Delhi Daredevils 21st Match at Bangalore - Apr 16, 2013, Ravindranath Rampaul, Virat Kohli, Irfan Khan Pathan

Published on: Apr 16, 2013

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

By BV Swagath

Hosts RCB choked from an easy winning position to end up with a tie against a struggling Delhi Daredevils but then prevailed in the subsequent Super Over. RCB scored 15 from the Super Over bowled by Umesh Yadav with AB de Villiers taking him for two sixes. Delhi Daredevils in the run chase lost Warner’s wicket off the first ball but got back into the game with Irfan Pathan taking Rampaul for a four and a six. Rampaul held his nerve though to have Delhi fall short of the target by 4 runs. With this, the Delhi Daredevils have slipped to their fifth defeat in a row!

The match should have been won by RCB but they made a mess of their run chase of 153 just when they had it under their control. Virat Kohli was leading the chase with a well paced 65 from 50 balls with 7 fours and a six before he got out caught by the diving Jaywaradene with his team needing 15 from 8 balls. With a slow medium pace bowler like Irfan Pathan to bowl the final over, RCB were favourites to score 12 runs from 6 balls although they had only three wickets in hand. Ravi Rampaul took on the medium pacer for a first ball sixer but then the drama unfolded and the visitors needing two from the final ball could only manage a lucky bye.

RCB were 26 for 2 in the 4th over when their big gun Chris Gayle was caught at thirdman. The pair of Kohli and AB de Villiers got through a superb partnership of 103 runs to put the hosts in a winning position. AB de Villiers scored 39 from 32 balls before he was run out by a direct throw from fellow South African Morne Morkel. After that run out, Delhi Daredevils went onto take four wickets in a hurry to come back strongly in the contest.

Early on, the Delhi Daredevils seemed to be struggling to get to a high total as none of the batsmen got going. Fortunately, late assaults from Kedar Jadhav (29* from 16 balls with 2 fours and a six) and Irfan Pathan (19* from 8 balls with 2 fours and a six) proved to very crucial in lifting Delhi to a competitive total of 152 for 5.

Toss and Teams: Hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the toss and asked Delhi Daredevils to bat first at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Ashish Nehra comes back for Delhi and Ben Rohrer gets his first game of the tournament. For RCB, Andrew McDonald and Jaydev Unadkat come in for Christian and Murali Kartik.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Chris Gayle, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli (C), AB de Villiers, Andrew McDonald, Arun Karthik (WK), Syed Mohammad Jamaluddin, Vinay Kumar, Ravi Rampaul, Jaidev Unadkat, RP Singh

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene (C), Manprit Juneja, Ben Rohrer, Kedar Jadhav (WK), Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Ashish Nehra

Related News