2nd Test: ICC confirms Dhoni was wrongly given out

2nd Test: ICC confirms Dhoni was wrongly given out

Tags: India tour of West indies - 2011, West Indies v India 2nd Test at Barbados- Jun 28-02, 2011

Published on: Jul 01, 2011

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

The ICC on Thursday confirmed that an error by the host broadcaster during first day's play in the second Test between the West Indies and India in Barbados led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire that caused Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's dismissal.

The ICC on Thursday confirmed that an error by the host broadcaster during first day's play in the second Test between the West Indies and India in Barbados led to the wrong replay being shown to the third umpire that caused Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni's dismissal.

During India's innings, India captain Dhoni was out caught at mid-on off the bowling of Fidel Edwards.

On-field umpire Ian Gould suspected that the delivery may have been a no-ball, so as per the correct protocols he sought confirmation from the third umpire Gregory Brathwaite.

But the delivery Brathwaite was shown by the host broadcaster was legitimate and hence, Dhoni was given out.

However, it was subsequently established that Brathwaite had been shown the wrong replay and that the delivery that led to Dhoni's dismissal should indeed have been called a no-ball.

"The host broadcaster for this series, IMG Media, acknowledged the mistake and has apologised. Having looked into the situation, I am satisfied it was an unfortunate but honest mistake in what is a tense and live environment," said Chris Broad of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees.

"It is worth pointing out that the umpires followed the correct procedures and are without blame in this matter.

"Seeing as the game has continued, clearly there is no opportunity to reverse the decision. We are forced now to put it behind us and move on with the remainder of the match," he added.

Meanwhile, a spokesman for IMG Media took the responsibility and said that it was a case of human error.

"IMG Media takes its responsibilities on this matter very seriously. This was a case of human error, compounded by a senior replay operative having to return home at very short notice."

As this series is not operating the Decision Review System (DRS), the enhanced standards, including the presence of an ICC technical official, is not in place as would be the case when DRS is used.

Related News