India Qualifies for Super Fours in Asia Cup Defeating Hong Kong

Tags: Asia Cup 2022, India vs Hong Kong, 4th Match, Group A at Dubai, Aug 31, 2022, India, Hong Kong

Published on: Sep 01, 2022

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

As expected, India has qualified for the Super Fours in the Asia Cup 2022 tournament hosted by Sri Lanka and held in the UAE. It was an easy win by 40 runs against Hong Kong on Wednesday. Now all eyes are on Sunday's match when the team will clash against arch-rival Pakistan, which first needs to defeat Hong Kong on Friday.

Batting first, India pocketed 192 runs losing just two wickets. The fifties of Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli mainly contributed to the gigantic score. The start of Hong Kong was satisfactory as the young Indian pacers failed to perform better. However, the Indian spinners took control thereafter and gained some wickets.

Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli were the top performers pocketing 68 and 59 runs respectively. Babar Hayat of the opponent was the top batsman in the match with 41 runs in 35 balls while Avesh Khan turned as the top bowler with 1/53 in four overs. Suryakumar Yadav was announced Player of the Match.

The fall of wickets for Hong Kong was 1-12 (Yasim Murtaza, 2 ov), 2-51 (Nizakat Khan, 6 ov), 3-74 (Babar Hayat, 11.1 ov), 4-105 (Aizaz Khan, 14.5 ov), 5-116 (Kinchit Shah, 17.1 ov). The fall of wickets for India was 1-38 (Rohit Sharma, 4.5 ov), 2-94 (KL Rahul, 13 ov).

The six teams are segregated in two groups. India, Pakistan and Hong Kong are in Group A while Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are placed in Group B. As of now India and Afghanistan have qualified for the Super Fours.

The highest scorers are Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav from India while Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran and Rahmanullah Gurbaz from Afghanistan. The most wicket takers are Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya from India, Mohammad Nawaz from Pakistan, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Rashid Khan from Afghanistan.

India is currently leading Group A with four points while both Pakistan and Hong Kong are at nil. Similarly, Afghanistan is having four points while Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the group are at zero points.

The Super Four matches are to be played from September 3 to 9 while the final match will be held on September 11 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai.

The Indian squad is as below:

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc, wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Avesh Khan, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wk), Arshdeep Singh, Suryakumar Yadav

Related News