ICC names World Cup 2019 XI; Rohit, Bumrah only Indians

Tags: Cricket World Cup 2019, Jason Jonathan Roy, Rohit Gurunath Sharma, Kane Stuart Williamson, Joseph Edward Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Benjamin Andrew Stokes, Alex Carey, Mitchell Aaron Starc, Jofra Chioke Archer, Lachlan Hammond Ferguson, Jasprit Jasbirsingh Bumrah

Published on: Jul 16, 2019

Following the conclusion of the World Cup 2019, the ICC has named the team of the tournament. Only two Indians feature in the team -- Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah -- while losing finalist leader Kane Williamson will captain the side. The team features four from World champs England, two from New Zealand, two from Australia and one from Bangladesh.

Rohit Sharma, who was the leading run scorer with 648 runs at an average of 81 with five hundreds, will open the innings. Hs opening partner will be Jason Roy, who set the tone for England at the top of the order, also returning from injury to resurrect their sinking campaign. He narrowly piped David Warner, who also had a memorable World Cup.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson, who was the man of the series, will lead the side and bat at number three. Williamson finished the tournament with most runs for a captain in any World Cup, and was also instrumental in leading the side to the final with his inspirational captaincy.

England star Joe Root, who hit centuries against Pakistan and West Indies as well as three fifties, was consistency personified and finished as leading run-scorer for England. He comes in at number four.

Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan had a sensational World Cup for his side with bat and ball. His heriocs earn him a spot at number five. Ben Stokes, the man of the final, follows his. Not only was Stokes outstanding with the bat in the final, but kept the England sides hope alive throughout in near-hopeless situations. He was also electric in the field.

Jos Buttler would have been a contender for the wicket-keeper's slot, but he couldn't quite set the tournament on fire. Thus, Australia's Alex Carey gets the nod over him. Not only did he pick up 20 dismissals behind the stumps but scored crucial runs for the team on most occasions.

Coming to the bowling, Mitchell Starc, like in 2015, finished as the tournament's leading wicket-taker with 27 wickets, a World Cup record, overtaking Glenn McGrath's 26 in the 2007 edition. He leads the attack.

Jofra Archer, who finished with 20 wickets at 4.57 in his maiden World Cup, New Zealand's Lockie Ferguson, who claimed 21 wickets, including three in the final to go with his magnificent catch, and world number one bowler Jasprit Bumrah, who ended with 18 wickets at 20.61, make the cut.

The team was selected by former international cricketers and commentators Ian Bishop, Ian Smith and Isa Guha, along with cricket writer Lawrence Booth. ICC General Manager Cricket, Geoff Allardice, was the fifth member and convener of the committee.

ICC World Cup 2019 XI

1. Jason Roy (England) – 443 runs

2. Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs

3. Kane Williamson (c) (New Zealand) – 578 runs

4. Joe Root (England) – 556 runs

5. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) – 606 runs and 11 wickets

6. Ben Stokes (England) – 465 runs and seven wickets

7. Alex Carey (wk) (Australia) – 375 runs and 20 dismissals

8. Mitchell Starc (Australia) – 27 wickets

9. Jofra Archer (England) – 20 wickets

10. Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand) – 21 wickets

11. Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wickets

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News