The best teams in IPL and what to expect in the 2023 edition

Published on: Mar 11, 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the largest annual sporting event in India and attracts cricketing spectators worldwide. In addition, the IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world, ranking sixth by average attendance worldwide amongst all sports leagues. The programme runs during the summer season in India, from March to May, when the top ten cricket teams (in seven cities and three states) compete for the championship. In 2023, there is increasing fervour from fans interested in predicting the winner, discussing their picks and claiming a Parimatch bonus code to bet on the league. Thus, this article will review the highest-performing teams of previous years to give an informative overview of the potential IPL 2023 champion.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League. Mumbai Indians (also known as MI) have won the IPL a total of five times - the most titles of any team. With Rohit Sharma as captain and the South African Mark Boucher as coach, MI have consistently proved to be the best team in IPL. In addition to Sharma, one of the world’s best openers, MI also has two of the best bowlers worldwide - Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

A close second to MI is most certainly Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who require only one more title to equal MI’s IPL wins. The team is based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, and was founded in 2008 - the same year IPL was organized for the first time. The captain for Chennai Super Kings is the well-known MS Dhoni, with the New Zealander Stephen Fleming as their coach. CSK has the highest win percentage of matches amongst all participating teams in the IPL.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

In third place, KKR (short for Kolkata Knight Riders) is the team representing Kolkata in the IPL, with Chandrakant Pandit as coach. Their first victory was in 2012, beating the Chennai Super Kings; their second victory was in 2014 when they defeated Kings XI Punjab. KKR won both championships utilising the highly-skilled Gautam Gambhir as captain; however, subsequently, KKR’s performance has become less consistent. Many fans are predicting a KKR resurgence in 2023 - the unpredictability of the IRL is what makes it the most popular sporting event in India.