Faulkner, Watson star in Rajasthan Royals' easy win over Sunrisers

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2013, Rajasthan Royals Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 36th Match at Jaipur - Apr 27, 2013, Shane Robert Watson, James Peter Faulkner

Published on: Apr 27, 2013

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Rajasthan Royals eased to an 8-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur this evening.

By BV Swagath

Rajasthan Royals eased to an 8-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur this evening. The match was set up nicely by left-arm medium pacer James Faulkner who claimed the first five-wicket haul of this IPL. Shane Watson sizzled in the run chase scoring an unbeaten 98 as the Rajasthan Royals chased down the target of 145 with 13 balls to spare.

It was a disastrous batting show from the Sunrisers as they slipped to a shocking 29 for 6 in 6.1 overs! The writing was on the wall for the Sunrisers to be bundled out cheaply but Darren Sammy played a brilliant knock and with able support from the lower order batsmen got his team to 144 for 9. The Sunrisers batsmen were done in by a combination of bad shots and the lateral movement off the track.

The top six batsmen of the visitors failed to get into double figures. Sammy came in at no.7 to score 60 from 41 balls with 8 fours and a six. First he got good support from leggie Amit Mishra who hung in for 28 balls to score 21. Ashish Reddy scored a useful 14 while it was the late blows from Dale Steyn – a couple of boundaries and a six that really helped the Sunrisers to get back into the contest.

For the hosts, James Faulkner grabbed the Purple Cap thanks to his 5 for 20. Rajasthan Royals sealed the run chase through a solid partnership of 74 for the 2nd wicket between Skipper Rahul Dravid (36 from 35 balls) and Shane Watson who stayed till the end to score 98* from 53 balls with 13 fours and 4 sixes.

Toss and Teams: Sunrisers Hyderabad with their original Skipper Kumar Sangakkara back in the XI have won the toss and opted to bat first against hosts Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Sangakkara takes the place of Cameron White.

Rajasthan Royals: Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rahul Dravid (C), Stuart Binny, Brad Hodge, Dishant Yagnik (WK), Sachin Baby, James Faulkner, Kevon Cooper, Ajit Chandila, Siddharth Trivedi

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Akshath Reddy, Shikhar Dhawan, Hanuma Vihari, Kumar Sangakkara (C&WK), Thisara Perera, Darren Sammy, Ashish Reddy, Karan Sharma, Amit Mishra, Dale Steyn, Ishant Sharma

Related News