History and Statistics of T20I Matches between India and Australia

Tags: Cricwaves Columns, India tour of Australia 2011-12

Published on: Feb 01, 2012

Statistics and History of Australia Vs India in Twenty20 Internationals

Australia and India play two Twenty20 Internationals on the 1st and 3rd of this month at Sydney and Melbourne respectively ahead of the Commonwealth Bank Tri-Series. Well till date, Australia and India have played each other only four times before today’s Sydney T20I. Both sides have equal success against each other so far. India who became the World T20 Champions in 2007 defeated Australia twice in that same year. Australia has won the last two T20Is played against India which were in 2008 and 2010.

Till date, Australia has played 45 T20Is against all the sides with 23 wins in that and 20 defeats. One match against England was a no result in those 45 T20Is for Australia. So its more of a 50% win record for the Aussies.

Coming to India, it has played 31 T20Is against all the sides till date in which it has won 16 matches and has lost 13. One T20I against Scotland was washed out five years ago for India.

Now lets talk about the history of the Four T20Is that Australia and India have played till date :

Match #1 : It was the Semi-Final Match of the ICC World Twenty20, or in short the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup that was lifted by MS Dhoni’s Team India! In the Semi-Final against Australia at Durban, Yuvraj Singh scored a sizzling 70 from just 30 balls with 5 fours and 5 sixes to help India to 188 for 5 in 20 overs. Australia was very much in the race but some timely breakthroughs especially from Sreesanth helped India pull off a 15-run victory.

Match # 2 : India, the reigning Twenty20 World Champions at that time defeated Australia by 7 wickets comprehensively in the one-off match at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. Skipper Ricky Ponting’s 76 from 53 balls with 13 fours had taken Australia to 166 for 5 in 20 overs. India eased to victory with 11 balls to spare thanks to a solid 63 from 52 balls from opener Gautam Gambhir. Robin Uthappa and Yuvraj Singh chipped in with quick cameos of 30s.

Match # 3 : In the 2007/08 tour of Australia, India lost the only T20I very badly after getting bundled out for a paltry 74 after winning the toss at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Left arm pacer Nathan Bracken picked up three wickets for the hosts while only one Indian batsman managed to get into double figures! Australia smashed the sorry target of 75 in 11.2 overs losing one wicket.

Match # 4 : In the ICC World Twenty20 2010, Australia defeated India by a huge margin of 49 runs at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. Riding on half centuries from its openers - Shane Watson (54 from 32 balls with a four and 6 sixes) and David Warner (72 from 42 balls with 2 fours and 7 sixes), Australia made 184 for 5 in 20 overs. India in reply was bowled out for 135 in 17.4 overs. There was a heroic unbeaten knock of 79 from 46 balls (with 4 fours and 6 sixes) from Rohit Sharma but the next highest score for India was just 13! Express fast bowler Dirk Nannes and Shaun Tait took three wickets each for Australia.

- By BV Swagath

Related News