Vijay Hazare Trophy final: Mithun hat-trick; Rahul, Agarwal fifties lead Karnataka to victory over Tamil Nadu

Tags: Vijay Hazare Trophy, Final, Abhimanyu Mithun, Mayank Anurag Agarwal

Published on: Oct 26, 2019

Abhimanyu Mithun took a hat-trick and completed a 5-wicket haul on his birthday as Karnataka defeated Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare Trophy final to win the crown for the 4th time. India regulars KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal also starred for Karnataka, featuring in an unbeaten 114-run stand.

Chasing Tamil Nadu’s 253, Karnataka were in complete control at 146/1 in 23 overs when rain interrupted play. The match was eventually called off with Rahul not out on 52 and Agarwal unbeaten on 69. Karnataka were declared winners as per the VJD method. The par score was 87.

Earlier, Karnataka skipper Manish Pandey won the toss and elected to field first. Karnataka bowled exceptionally well to keep Tamil Nadu to 252 all out in 49.5 overs.

Mithun dealt Tamil Nadu with a major blow when he sent back Murali Vijay for a duck second ball. He came back to dismiss Vijay Shankar for 38 towards the end of the innings.

It was in the final over that Abhimanyu Mithun completed his hat-trick by sending back Shahrukh Khan, M Mohammed and Murugan Ashwin. With the feat, he became the first Karnataka bowler to complete a hat-trick in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

After Tamil Nadu found themselves in early trouble at 24 for 2, Abhinav Mukund (85) and Baba Aparajith (66) put the innings back on track with a 124-run partnership for the third wicket. However, except for Shankar, nothing much came from the others.

Responding to Tamil Nadu’s 252, Karnataka lost Devdutt Padikkal early as Washington Sundar sent him back for 11, cleaning him up. Rahul and Agarwal, however, gave Tamil Nadu no chance to make a comeback.

--Renin Wilben Albert

Related News